This section explains how to create smart notifications and how to monitor delivery plan limits and deadlines based on them.


Purpose

Smart Notifications help users and/or customers to monitor plan limits and stay on top of their deadlines. The user defines the triggers to send the notification, when to notify and who will receive the notification. The purpose is to avoid issues such as:

  • Having executed hours exceeding the planned ones
  • Missing plan deadlines
  • Charge the customer incorrectly
  • Losing customer's trust



How Smart Notifications Work?

The principle behind smart notifications is simple. The user creates a Notifications Rules Set containing 3 basic definitions:

  • When to send the notification (trigger);
  • The reference value for the notification (parameter);
  • Who to notify (receiver).

The next step is to associate this Notification Rules Set to an existing delivery plan. When the plan is ACTIVE, the system will monitor the activities based on the plan progress/consumption and the worklogs the teams enter.

Whenever the activities performed to reach the specified parameters, the system will alert the related audience so they can take the necessary actions.



Creating a Notification Rules Set

To create a Notification Rules Set, go to the left menu and click on the "Delivery Plans" option, then select the "Notifications" link. The list of existing Notification Rules Sets is displayed.



If you are accessing this screen for the first time, the system will show you the following message:

Click on the "Create Notification" button to create a new Set. If you already have notifications created, click on the "Create Rules Set" button on the top right of the screen. The following screen appears:



Fill the following fields accordingly:

  • Name: This is the Rules Set's name. Use a name that is meaningful for your current process.
  • Delivery Plan Type: For what plan type the related notification will be executed (Hours, Fixed-Price or All)
  • When to Notify: This is the rule that will trigger the notification. When you select an option from the dropdown, the system will ask for a value:



  • Value of X: The "X" represents the parameter to be used as a reference by the rule previously added (number of days, percentage, or number of hours). 


Notifications in hours can include non-billable hours as part of the delivery plan's total or only the billable ones, as basis for sending notifications. See the General Settings to select the desired behavior.



  • Who to Notify: Defines the audience for the notification. The system can notify:
    • Team: All team members that are part of the delivery plans where this notification set is used

    • Customer: The customers from the delivery plans where this notification set is used. In this case, they are notified by e-mail since they may not have access to Jira. Make sure the customer has the e-mail field filled by checking this page
    • Delivery Plan Owner: The responsible for the plans where this notification set is used 
    • All: Sends the notifications to all people above



After choosing the receivers, click on the "Add Rule" button to add the rule to the list. The screen will be cleaned so you can add another rule to the Set or save the Set by clicking on "Save Rules Set".

You can add up to 3 rules to each Notification Rules Set created



 You can repeat the same rule inside the Notification Rules Set (since they have different parameters) in case you want to be notified in different stages of the same delivery plan. For example:

  • The user adds the "Notify X days before the delivery plan expires" rule twice and sets "10" for the first rule and "5" for the second rule. In this way, the system will send two notifications to alert users about the plan expiration, one 10 days before the plan expires and another one 5 days before the plan expires. Each notification will be sent only once for each rule. This is also valid for notification rules that use numbers or percentages as parameters.


 The system also understands when executed activities reach the rule by exceeding the parameter and also require notification. For example:

  • The user adds the "Notify when 4 planned hours remain" rule. Let's suppose the related delivery plan has 10 hours remaining. Then a team member enters 8 hours in a single worklog. In this case, the system identifies that the related notification has to be sent anyway to alert the audience because that worklog event exceeded the limit in the same manner. This is also valid for notification rules that use dates as parameters.



You can only add the same rule twice in a Notification Rules Set in case they are using different parameters. Taking the previous example, you cannot add the "Notify X days before the delivery plan expires" rule twice and informing the same "10 days" for the two rules added.




Assigning the Notification Rules Set to a Delivery Plan

There are two ways to perform this action:

  1. When you create a new Delivery Plan;
  2. When you edit an existing DRAFT Delivery Plan.

In both cases, you just need to go to the "Notifications set" dropdown (as shown below) and select the Notification Rules Set this particular plan should follow. This will tell the system what rules should be monitored in order to send the notifications to the selected audience.




 The system will only start monitoring the rules after the delivery plan is ACTIVE. 


After the delivery plan is ACTIVE you can always check the rules it is following by opening the plan and clicking on the "View Set Rules" button. The following screen will be displayed (read-only):




Getting Notified

When time goes by and the team members log their work, the system will monitor the delivery plan limits as per the Notification Rules selected. Whenever the activities reach the defined parameters, the system will send a notification to the related audience (defined on the Notification Rules Set). These users can view the notifications on the left menu, where the bell icon will display the number of unread notifications:




The notifications displayed refer to all delivery plans the user is monitoring with the Notification Sets. The more plans are being monitored, the bigger is the notifications amount displayed.


Notifications only work within the plan dates. If you have worklogs outside the start/end dates period, these will not be taken into consideration by the system to alert the users.


If you already received a notification that matches the defined rules, the system will not notify again in case the delivery plan data is changed (increase hours, set new end date, etc.).



 The notification rules respect delivery plan recurrence. It means they will work based on the defined recurrence, when available. For example:

  • A delivery plan is created with a monthly recurrence of 40h and the Notification Rules Set associated with that plan has the "Notify when 10 planned hours remain" rule. In this case, the system will notify the selected audience every month whenever the amount of executed hours reaches/exceeds 30h. This is also valid for notification rules that use dates as parameters.




Reading the Notifications 

When the user clicks on the Notification Icon, the list of unread notifications appears. The user has two additional icons on this screen to:

  1. Mark the notification as read
  2. Delete the notification




It is also possible to simply close the notification window by clicking again on the bell icon. This action will not change the notifications in place. 




Email Notifications

Customers will receive notifications via email when delivery plans reached the limits defined on the Smart Notifications. In this case, the message will look like this:



It is recommended to check with your IT or infrastructure if your internal process allows sending emails from the app.


 E-mail Notifications set up in Hours are sent immediately after a worklog reaches the delivery plan limits. When the notifications are set up. in Days, the e-mails are sent every midnight (Greenwich time).