This section explains how to use Contract Views to give users access only to contracts they or their areas are allowed to see.
What is a View?
ContractsPro is an app that is not tied to Jira's project structure. This means you can create contracts and log time in issues under any project since the issue is properly configured with the related Contract/Account. But when you work in a company where many teams or areas need to manage contracts, you also need to make sure some contracts should be restricted to a particular team/area. Contract Views allows users to create this separation to make this process simpler.
A view is basically a set of contracts that certain users are allowed to access and work on them. In essence, you:
Create a view and define what user groups have access to it;
Link a View to a Contract during the contract creation/edition;
Access the contract screen where only the views you created (or which you are allowed to see) will be displayed.
Creating a View
In order to create a Contract View, go to the left menu and click on the "Contracts" option, then select the "Views" link. The list of existing views is displayed.
Only the views you have created or the ones you are allowed to see will be displayed on the screen.
System admins are able to see all contracts independently of the views created.
You can also filter only the issues you have created by selecting the "Only my Views" checkbox
IMPORTANT Only the views you have created can be edited/deleted. The ones you are only allowed to see should be edited/deleted by their respective owners
Click on the button to create a new view. The following screen appears:
Name: This is the view's name. Use a name that is meaningful for your current process.
Add View Group: Defines what Jira groups will be able to see the contracts inside that view. Type the Jira group name and click on the icon to add them to the list.
Click on to add the view to the list.
You can add/remove groups (since you have created them) whenever you want, using the "edit" option available.
Assigning a View to a Contract
There are two ways to perform this action:
When you create a new Contract;
When you edit an existing DRAFT Contract.
In both cases, you just need to go to the "View" dropdown (as shown below) and select the view in which you want to add that particular contract. When you save this information, only the users that are part of the groups you defined during the View creation will be able to see this Contract from the contracts list.
Remember that only the views you have created or the ones you are allowed to see will be available for selection.
IMPORTANT Each Contract can only be assigned to a single Contract View.
When you go to the Contracts screen, the following contracts will be displayed:
All Contracts that are part of all views you created or that you are allowed to see
All Contracts that do not have any view assigned to them.
Both items above are automatic, do not require any action to be displayed:
In case you created or are allowed to see more than one View, you can choose what set of Contracts you want to be displayed by using the "View" filter on the top of the screen:
Only the views you have created or the ones you are allowed to see will be available for filtering.