This section explains how to use Plan Views to give users access only to delivery plans they or their areas are allowed to see.
What is a View?
MindPro Deliver is an app that is not tied to Jira's project structure. This means you can create delivery plans and log time in issues under any Jira project. But when you work in a company where many teams or areas need to manage delivery plans, you also need to make sure some delivery plans should be restricted to a particular team/area. Plan Views allows users to create this separation to make this process simpler.
A view is basically a set of delivery plans that certain users are allowed to access and work on them. In essence, you:
Create a view and define what user groups have access to it;
Link a View to a Delivery Plan during the Plan creation/edition;
Access the Delivery Plan screen where only the views you created (or which you are allowed to see) will be displayed.
Creating a View
In order to create a Plan View, go to the left menu and click on the "Delivery Plans" option, then select the "Views" link. The list of existing views is displayed.
Only the views you have created or the ones you are allowed to see will be displayed on the screen.
System admins are able to see all delivery plans independently of the views created.
If you are accessing this screen for the first time, the system will show you the following message:
Click on the "Create View" button to create a new view. The following screen appears:
Name: This is the view's name. Use a name that is meaningful for your current process.
Add View Group: Defines what Jira groups will be able to see the delivery plans tied to that view. Type the Jira group name and click on the icon to add them to the list.
Click on "Create" to add the view to the list.
You can add/remove groups (since you have created them) whenever you want, using the "edit" option available.
You can also filter only the issues you have created by selecting the "Only my Views" checkbox
IMPORTANT Only the views you have created can be edited/deleted. The ones you are only allowed to see should be edited/deleted by their respective owners
Assigning a View to a Delivery Plan
There are two ways to perform this action:
When you create a new Delivery Plan;
When you edit an existing DRAFT Delivery Plan.
In both cases, you just need to go to the "View" dropdown (as shown below) and select the view in which you want to add that particular delivery plan. When you save this information, only the users that are part of the groups you defined during the View creation will be able to see this Delivery Plan from the plans list.
Remember that only the views you have created or the ones you are allowed to see will be available for selection.
IMPORTANT Each Delivery Plan can only be assigned to a single Plan View.
When you go to the Plans screen, the following delivery plans will be displayed:
All Delivery Plans that are part of all views you created or that you are allowed to see
All Delivery Plans that do not have any view assigned to them.
Both items above are automatic, do not require any action to be displayed:
In case you created or are allowed to see more than one View, you can choose what set of Delivery Plans you want to be displayed by using the "View" filter on the top of the screen:
Only the views you have created or the ones you are allowed to see will be available for filtering.