Log Work

NOTE In order to have the ContractsPro Widget available for selection, you have to previously set up ContractsPro as your time tracking provider. Please check the Get Started page for more information.

IMPORTANT  Jira Cloud and ContractsPro require cookies to manage user information for worklogs. Before you start, make sure your web browser is allowing cookies. 



Set up Contract and Account for the issues

At this time you should already have your contract created. If not, please, follow the instruction from Create a Contract.

Before you start logging time, you need to set up a Contract and an account for the issue you are planning to utilize. After creating the issue, you should edit it and select the "ContractsPro" option to display the widget on the screen, as shown below.:



The ContractsPro Widget will be displayed:



Inform the related Contract and Account for the issue by typing the names and select them with ENTER. Then you click SAVE to confirm:



Log Work

Once you have defined the Contract and Account for your issue, you can start logging your time by clicking on the "Log Work" button. The worklog pop-up window will be displayed (all fields are mandatory):

IMPORTANT  After you enter the first worklog, the system will not allow changing the contract and account for this issue. If you need to change these fields, you will need to delete all worklogs first. Then the system will allow you to make the changes.


  • Team: enter the team you are logging time for. This functionality is particularly important for that cases where a person is part of more than one team and has to separate the time entered for each of them. 

    NOTE 1 Only the teams tied to that particular contract/account will be available for selection and the current user will see only the teams he/she is part of.

    NOTE 2 Team leaders sometimes are not a member of the team on the team's records. In case the user is a Leader but is not part of the team, he/she will see only the teams he/she leads.

  • User (read-only): current user logged in the system.
  • Description: a summary of the activity that is being performed.
  • Date: the date when the activity is being logged.
  • Worked Hours: the number of hours you are logging at that time.

    Only rounded hours are acceptable for this version. Future versions will also allow minutes as in Jira standard worklogs.


Click on SAVE to confirm the worklog. Both Contract and Account fields will be disabled for changes. The system will display the hours entered for that issue and update the account progress bar (when applicable), as below:

Use the Action Icons to Delete existing worklogs if needed.

The system can also show a progress bar that allows users to check how is the progress of that particular account. It is calculated using the hours defined on the Contract for that particular account minus the logged hours entered by the team members. The progress bar can be displayed in 4 colors:

  • Light Blue: No hours were logged for that account in this issue.
  • Dark Blue: This indicates there are hours logged and the progress is less than 100%.
  • Green: This indicates the progress is 100%. It means all planned hours were consumed for that account.
  • Red: Progress exceeded 100%. It means that hours were logged after the planned hours are completely consumed.

This progress bar feature is only shown for Time & Materials (hours) contracts. is particularly important to avoid exceeding the limits of contract accounts. When the users can see how many hours are remaining to complete the planned time, they can alert other users or team leaders and avoid situations like invoicing customers with unexpected extra hours.



Validations

In order to better control the worklogs, timesheet submission and account limits, the system has some default validations performed while the user attempts to enter time. See some examples below:


  • Block new worklogs when account has reached its limit: this validation is applied for Time & Materials (hours) contracts. When the issue has an account which has already reached its limit, the system will show a warning message and block the action, whenever the user tries to add a new worklog. 
  • Block new worklogs when timesheet is not OPEN: is the user tries to enter time for a period where the related timesheet is not OPEN, the system will show a warning message and block the action. This is to make internal timesheet approval processes more effective.


IMPORTANT  Any of the validations above can be changed according to your needs. Access the General Settings and select the best options for you.



Log work on behalf of other team members

There are cases where a team member is unavailable and cannot enter time or submit timesheets for approval. For these situations, the system allows other people to enter time on behalf of the unavailable user to adjust worklogs so timesheets can be submitted. 


IMPORTANT Please, note that only TEAM LEADERS are allowed to log time on behalf of other team members. Please, check your permissions before performing this action.


When a team member accesses the worklog screen, his/her name is shown as below:

But when a team leader or admin logs time, the system shows a dropdown for selection. The default name displayed is the current user, but it is also possible to log time for other users:

IMPORTANT Team leaders will only see the team members from the teams they lead.



Hide Worklog Widget

If you want to hide the ContractsPro Widget, click on the "3-dots" icon from the issue screen and select "Hide ContractsPro", as follows: